Our Missouri Solar Eclipse Task Force

About our Missouri Solar Eclipse Task Force


The Missouri Eclipse Task Force has divided Missouri into regions with leaders assigned to each region so that each area is appropriately represented within the state-wide task force.  State-wide meetings are held on a regular basis to coordinate state-wide issues, and regional meetings are planned to focus on regional needs.

Over 110 individuals from 80+ organizations are participating in our task force. If your organization would like to learn more about the benefits of participating in the Missouri Eclipse Task Force, please Contact us.

Task Force - Statewide Chair:

Trish Erzfeld, Perry County Heritage Tourism

Task Force - Regional Leaders:

  • Northeast Region - Dr. Vayu Gokhale, Truman State University in Kirksville, MO
  • Northwest Region - Jackie Beucher, Astronomical Society of Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
  • Central Region- Open
  • Eastern Region - Don Ficken, St. Louis Astronomical Society and Astronomical Society of Eastern Missouri, St. Louis, MO
  • Southeast Region - Peggy Hill, Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau, MO

Task Force - Member Organizations:


Astronomer Organizations/Science Institutions


City/County/Government (excluding libraries)

Parks and Natural Areas




  • Batesville Chamber of Commerce, Arkansas
  • City of Maumelle Economic Development, Arkansas
  • Houlton Community Development, Arkansas
  • Independence County, Arkansas
  • Ozark Folk Center State Park, Arkansas
  • Mammoth Springs Planning, Arkansas
  • Maumelle, Arkansas
  • Meadowcreek, Arkansas
  • Mountainview, Arkansas
  • University of Arkansas - Economic Development, Arkansas



  • Houlton Community Development, Maine


  • Kidsoutandabout, New York

Our Goal

Inspire. Educate. Connect.

The Missouri Eclipse Task Force is a Missouri state-wide collaboration working together to promote the 2023 and 2024 Solar Eclipses. Treasury functions for the Task Force are handled by the Astronomical Association of Southeast Missouri, a 501(c)3.

Task Force